Packing, moving and being in Latvia - Reisverslag uit Riga, Letland van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu Packing, moving and being in Latvia - Reisverslag uit Riga, Letland van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu

Packing, moving and being in Latvia

Door: Joëlle Glerum

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joëlle

25 Augustus 2014 | Letland, Riga

Dear readers,

I need to start by saying welcome back to this page. It took me a while to decide if I wanted to write stories about what I experience during my study in Latvia. But yes, I do. I think writing a story will magnify the experience and it won’t let you forget what you have experienced.
First I would like to start on the moment I decided to go on exchange which was somewhere in April. I doubted if I wanted to go. Why I decided to go? I think that I would have regret it otherwise. When I got accepted, I was very happy. However I needed to pass my propaedeutic year and get this certificate before going.

And… I passed.

Then I started working during my holiday period. Full time in amusement park Drievliet. The last weeks of working we (my mom and I) decided to go one week before I had to head back into college (kind of drop off). The last week of working I slowly started packing and on the 22th of August I flew out of the Netherlands.

Facebook status 21 august 2014: Last night in the Netherlands for the year 2014.

When we (my mom, my mom’s friend and I) arrived in Riga (pronounced Rika), the capital of Latvia, we took the bus towards our hotel. First we had an arrival dinner before heading into town. We saw the freedom monument, the sky tower (which gives a panorama view from the top – 26 stages) and many other buildings.

The next day (23-08), we decided to walk around some major sightseeing’s such as the Opera house, the St. Peter’s Church (we climbed up the tower and had an amazing view), the freedom monument, porcelain museum, the chocolate museum, the art district and many more. This day we had dinner at a sushi bar called Planeta. After our dinner we sat down at a place to relax and I had my first Latvian beer.

The following day (24-8), we decided to walk around the other major sighsteeing’s such as the synagogue, the cats house, Riga’s dome, Castle of Riga and many more. In the afternoon we saw the Dutch embassy as well as the Powder Tower. After this we went on a boat tour around the river and the canal through wards the city. In the end of the afternoon we crossed some warehouses. However these weren’t just warehouses, this was a place where Jewish people had died during WO2. Continuing the rest of day we went to Peter Balcums restaurant to have a classical Latvian dish. We enjoyed it very much.

The last and final day of Riga (25-8), we explored the last bit of the city before heading into the Riga Gallery since it was raining. At half past two we were back at the hotel before taking the bus to the airport. Arriving at the airport we (my mom and I) said goodbye to my mom’s friends who headed back to the Netherlands, while we called for our pick up.

Enjoy the moments at home, wherever you are.

Joëlle

  • 27 Augustus 2014 - 20:23

    Renata:

    Veel plezier in Letland en geniet van je studie daar! Groetjes Renata

  • 28 Augustus 2014 - 19:58

    Corien:

    Hi Joëlle,

    I'm really happy that you started this diary. Your stories are always interesting and your adventures really amazing. I hope you have a great time in Latvia and that you can enjoy your studies. The warehouse story made me curious, I'm going to try to gind more information about that place.

    Love, Corien

    ps have a great time with Desiree and Jeanette:)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Letland, Riga

Joëlle

Hello, Ik ben Joëlle Glerum. Ik ben een zelfstandige & ondernemend persoon. Ik heb in mei 2012 mijn HAVO diploma gehaald. Toen ik 15 jaar was ben ik zelfstandig voor een halfjaar naar Engeland gegaan. Dit jaar (2012/2013) zal ik vrijwilligerswerk gaan doen in het buitenland. Ik hou erg van lekker eten. Verder wielren en squash ik. Ik hou ervan om te lezen en te reizen. In mijn toekomst wil ik iets gaan doen met ontwikkelingswerk of toerisme, of het combineren. Dit jaar zal mij veel duidelijkheid geven over de keuzes voor mijn toekomst. Cya, xx. Joëlle

Actief sinds 03 Jan. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 300
Totaal aantal bezoekers 51992

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Februari 2016 - 08 Juli 2016

Placement in Uganda

20 Maart 2015 - 20 Maart 2015

Fiedltrip Asia (Thailand + Myanmar)

22 Augustus 2014 - 31 Januari 2015

My studies in Latvia

23 Oktober 2012 - 30 Juni 2013

Reis om de wereld. / Travelling around the World.

09 Januari 2010 - 09 Juni 2010

5 Maanden In Engeland.

Landen bezocht: