A life without electricity and water - Reisverslag uit Mindoro, Filipijnen van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu A life without electricity and water - Reisverslag uit Mindoro, Filipijnen van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu

A life without electricity and water

Door: Joëlle Glerum

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joëlle

14 Mei 2013 | Filipijnen, Mindoro

Dear readers,
A lot of people now that my mom left on the 12th of May early in the morning. So I have been alone for 3 days.
On Sunday and Monday I haven’t done much. On Monday it was a holiday here because of elections, here in Roxas it stayed quiet while in other places people where fighting.
Today, Tuesday the 14th, I have been harvesting vermi compost, this means I separated the vermi (worms) from the compost. I had to put the worms in a sack with food and pile the compost, it is nearly finished. In the afternoon I didn’t do much, we planted some mint. I have to say the day was interesting and before I would have never touch worms but now after leaches, worms don’t freak you out anymore. Yes touching the first worm is a little strange but after that you realize it is nothing, just keep on going.
Anyway, in the last 3 days you might not believe it but it is true. We had for a few hours every day with no electricity and today the water isn’t coming out of the tab anymore.
Now if I want to take a shower, I have to take my bucket (which is my shower), outside, walk a little bit, put it in front of the manually tab and work the tab with my hands. It’s a water pomp, you have to do the hard work to get the water. Then you have to carry the heavy bucket back and you can take a shower. Yes, this life compares to the life you have is different, probably I work harder for water then you. And the other thing is: my shower is cold! So don’t ever complain if the water is cold for once, I have it every day.
We all hope here that the water will run again tomorrow but they don’t expect it to be tomorrow. Well we can always shower outside because it is raining heavy at the moment. There is even lightning and thunder. The thunder is very close so at the moment we are taking turns for watching the lightning in case the lightning hits close by, so somebody can warn then or we will all help the neighbors. This is why at the moment there are buckets ready to get filled if necessary. I just had my turn, my turn was with one of the kids of our cook from 8-10. We switched off two other kids of the cook who did from 5-7.
Now somebody goes from 10-12, this is Jaa and one of the other teacher that stays for the night. After them they will be switched by Ben and one of the teachers (that stays for the night), and Ben and the teacher will be switched by two other teachers, Mina and Bet take the early morning turn. And the cook and Nene will take the late morning turn. But we expect the thunder/lightning to stop tomorrow early morning. They told me that they just want to be sure it stops before something happens when they think it stopped and left.
I will go to bed now and will write tomorrow the development of this story. Goodnight for now!
In the end nothing happened, everything is and was safe. The water came back one day later then we had hoped. Yes we are lucky and have electricity and water. Sometimes we still lose electricity but at least it comes back after a few moments/hours. Usually 1 or 2 hours.
Love,
Joëlle

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joëlle

Hello, Ik ben Joëlle Glerum. Ik ben een zelfstandige & ondernemend persoon. Ik heb in mei 2012 mijn HAVO diploma gehaald. Toen ik 15 jaar was ben ik zelfstandig voor een halfjaar naar Engeland gegaan. Dit jaar (2012/2013) zal ik vrijwilligerswerk gaan doen in het buitenland. Ik hou erg van lekker eten. Verder wielren en squash ik. Ik hou ervan om te lezen en te reizen. In mijn toekomst wil ik iets gaan doen met ontwikkelingswerk of toerisme, of het combineren. Dit jaar zal mij veel duidelijkheid geven over de keuzes voor mijn toekomst. Cya, xx. Joëlle

Actief sinds 03 Jan. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 330
Totaal aantal bezoekers 52036

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Februari 2016 - 08 Juli 2016

Placement in Uganda

20 Maart 2015 - 20 Maart 2015

Fiedltrip Asia (Thailand + Myanmar)

22 Augustus 2014 - 31 Januari 2015

My studies in Latvia

23 Oktober 2012 - 30 Juni 2013

Reis om de wereld. / Travelling around the World.

09 Januari 2010 - 09 Juni 2010

5 Maanden In Engeland.

Landen bezocht: