Organic or Chemical? You decide. - Reisverslag uit Mindoro, Filipijnen van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu Organic or Chemical? You decide. - Reisverslag uit Mindoro, Filipijnen van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu

Organic or Chemical? You decide.

Door: Joëlle Glerum

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joëlle

19 Mei 2013 | Filipijnen, Mindoro

Dear friends and family,
Today am fine, how are you? I am very much enjoying life. I realized that I have less than a month and I will be home. Do I look forward? Yes and no. I would miss traveling but I think when I am home I will also be ready to be home.
But for now we don’t want to talk about home. Or maybe we do, but as in home as in the place where I am now in the Philippines. I am in Roxas, Mindoro oriental, Philippines. The exact address I don’t know. At least you can Google where in the Philippines I am about.
Anyway I stay here in a family farm school. The school is meant to learn students organic farming and why organic? And what is the best strategic, because I can tell you without any doubt ‘FARMERS ARE IMPORTANT’, without them there is no food. Because you don’t really think that food comes fabric, right? And for a country as the Philippines, who need quit a amount of rice, they will need organic farmers. Why organic? Organic farming might be not the easy way out. But most of the time the effort you put in, brings more in return then by chemical farming. It also has to do a lot with the soil. Think for one moment If you have two of the same plants but when you grow them, one of them you will grow natural and one with chemical uses. Yes maybe the chemical one grows quicker, but think if I ask you to do the same for 10 years. Would the chemical earth still be able to produce what it did the first time?
I guess you also learn a lot about organic farming when you first of all experienced a organic farm and now you are on a organic school. It means in a way you respect the life style and I know it is a hard one, because not many people do it, but everyone who does it there effort will be turned into success. The funny thing is that for example organic rice is higher in price then chemical produced rice. I think this is because a lot of people start to realize they prefer organic based products. Like that we in the Netherlands want chickens to have more space, that is already thinking of the life of the animals and in a way more organic. But by doing this the chickens will be more expensive, but still we do it. At the moment a lot of people prefer organic grown products and it will help so many people. I think now that I have experienced the organic life style of a farmer or a teacher. It might be hard but if you put your mind to it, you can succeed.
The problem here and everywhere in the world is that people don’t want to become a farmer, because becoming a farmer means sacrifices. A lot of people, especially here in the Philippines. If you can sent your child to school, you prefer them to become something else. That’s why a lot of people never return into farming, only those that didn’t have a proper education usually ends up in farming. The reason why I think the farm school is useful, they learn those who need that extra help and also tell their students you know organic farming is important, not because we need it. But because one day everybody will thank you.
That is why I want to ask you. Just thank a farmer today. Even if you don’t know them or you don’t see them. Think for a minute.. if they were not there, there would be no food, because we are lazy and I think most of us don’t even know how to collect our own food. So please thank them.
Love,
Joëlle

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joëlle

Hello, Ik ben Joëlle Glerum. Ik ben een zelfstandige & ondernemend persoon. Ik heb in mei 2012 mijn HAVO diploma gehaald. Toen ik 15 jaar was ben ik zelfstandig voor een halfjaar naar Engeland gegaan. Dit jaar (2012/2013) zal ik vrijwilligerswerk gaan doen in het buitenland. Ik hou erg van lekker eten. Verder wielren en squash ik. Ik hou ervan om te lezen en te reizen. In mijn toekomst wil ik iets gaan doen met ontwikkelingswerk of toerisme, of het combineren. Dit jaar zal mij veel duidelijkheid geven over de keuzes voor mijn toekomst. Cya, xx. Joëlle

Actief sinds 03 Jan. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 336
Totaal aantal bezoekers 52042

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Februari 2016 - 08 Juli 2016

Placement in Uganda

20 Maart 2015 - 20 Maart 2015

Fiedltrip Asia (Thailand + Myanmar)

22 Augustus 2014 - 31 Januari 2015

My studies in Latvia

23 Oktober 2012 - 30 Juni 2013

Reis om de wereld. / Travelling around the World.

09 Januari 2010 - 09 Juni 2010

5 Maanden In Engeland.

Landen bezocht: