A daytrip? - Reisverslag uit Mindoro, Filipijnen van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu A daytrip? - Reisverslag uit Mindoro, Filipijnen van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu

A daytrip?

Door: Joëlle Glerum

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joëlle

21 Mei 2013 | Filipijnen, Mindoro

Dear people,
Now that I am starting to write this story. I will first explain where I sit. I sit on a bench outside the office, because the wifi connection just doesn’t reach my place all the time. If I sit inside I have sometimes connection and sometimes not. So that’s why I sit in front of the office.
Now when I look at the wall, which is right to me, I see a few lizards and a gecko, I hope they are lucky tonight. When I watch to the front I will see another bench, two scooters and some plants. When I look at the left I see a dark hole and in this dark hole I will have to walk to get to my place. Then when I look backwards I would see the wall I am sitting against but after the wall there are plants and a path. When I look at the ground, well let’s say it is grey and I will see my full 2l bottle.
Anyway I want to talk about the 18th and the 19th of may because that’s been an very interesting weekend. But first of all it started on Thursday the 16th. One of the teacher here, Hazel, the one that’s a Filipina but also Australian asked me to join her on a daytrip on Saturday to Bulalacao. So I decided to go. On the Friday we talked about it.
The next day, the day leaving, the Saturday the 18th, they would pick me up at 7 am. So I woke up at 6am and was ready before 7am. However no asian country has ever showed me that time is time. It doesn’t matter when you are a little late. Well in Filipino way this means a tricycle came to pick me up at 9/9.30 am. Anyway the tricycle brought me to Hazels house and here Hazel, Calbo (which means bald, he actually has another name, but nobody knows, boyfriends of Hazel), Nancy (boardmember and friend of Hazel), Grace (daughter of Nancy) joined the tricycle and together we went to Bulalacao. However we stopped at a market, to buy some food. It is from Roxas to Bulalacao 1 hour and with a tricycle it takes a little longer. It doesn’t matter because the way to Bulalacao is beautiful, the trees, the palmtrees, the sea that you are able to see and so much more.
In Bulalacao we visited the former caretaker of the Family Farm School. We had lunch at his place and after lunch and a lot of sourisch mango we went to the end of Mindoro. At the end of Mindoro we arranged a boat to bring us to Sugicay Island. Imagine a fishing boat taking two rides going to an Island. Half an hour away with the boat from Mindoro.
Then the moment you arrive on Sugicay Island, you see only sand, a few seats and a fishers village. In the afternoon we swam (past of swim – not sure) and enjoyed the sun. Suddenly they decided that they didn’t want to go home and asked me if I would mind if we would stay for the night. Well, I am not going to complain, I am on a tropical Island, possibility to stay for the night, well I think let’s do that. So we stayed for the night. They arranged some fish at the village, we barbecued them. We arranged some drinks in the shop and we had a nice evening, we saw the sunset and we had a nice dinner. After dinner we played music and talked together.
Early morning about 3am we made a campfire, this to see something, but also to keep the mosquito’s and other strange animals away from us.
However when you are on a tropical Island, sleeping on the beach, you might wake up early because the sun will rise and that’s why everybody woke up at 6am.
In less than 1 hour we all got ready to leave. We left the Island went back to the caretakers place, grabbed our stuff and got ready for the ride back. Then Hazel and Calbo decided to stay a bit longer. But Grace, Nancy and I went back to Roxas. Grace and Nancy took a van there to bring them back to calapan, that is where they live. And the tricycle brought me to the shop and then straight back home. When I arrived at the Family Farm School I took a rest and around 2pm/3pm I went to look for the water sprinkeler to feed the vermicast. I got the job to water the vermi. The last day I did was on Friday, then I stop one day and do it the next day. So that meant I couldn’t not forget to do that. After this I washed my hands and looked for Mina and the cook, Elsie, to cook some pancakes. After cooking them we boiled some banana. Yeah I know it sounds strange, but believe me it tastes a bit strange. I don’t really like it that much, but I think that is also because I am not a huge fan of bananas.
After cooking the pancakes we all ate them together and then Mina decided that it would be nice if we all would have dinner together, but she would make it. I think this was also because her husband, Ben, and her son, Bet, are away, so she was alone and I am/was alone and then the cook with her six chidren, while there only three here, so we ate dinner together.
About 9 I went to bed, because I have had a weekend with not a lot of sleep and that is a perfect sentence to finish because it just turned 9pm here in Roxas, Mindoro.
Love,
Joëlle

  • 23 Mei 2013 - 18:48

    Peter:

    Klinkt wel romantisch slapen op een tropisch eiland

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joëlle

Hello, Ik ben Joëlle Glerum. Ik ben een zelfstandige & ondernemend persoon. Ik heb in mei 2012 mijn HAVO diploma gehaald. Toen ik 15 jaar was ben ik zelfstandig voor een halfjaar naar Engeland gegaan. Dit jaar (2012/2013) zal ik vrijwilligerswerk gaan doen in het buitenland. Ik hou erg van lekker eten. Verder wielren en squash ik. Ik hou ervan om te lezen en te reizen. In mijn toekomst wil ik iets gaan doen met ontwikkelingswerk of toerisme, of het combineren. Dit jaar zal mij veel duidelijkheid geven over de keuzes voor mijn toekomst. Cya, xx. Joëlle

Actief sinds 03 Jan. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 437
Totaal aantal bezoekers 52051

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Februari 2016 - 08 Juli 2016

Placement in Uganda

20 Maart 2015 - 20 Maart 2015

Fiedltrip Asia (Thailand + Myanmar)

22 Augustus 2014 - 31 Januari 2015

My studies in Latvia

23 Oktober 2012 - 30 Juni 2013

Reis om de wereld. / Travelling around the World.

09 Januari 2010 - 09 Juni 2010

5 Maanden In Engeland.

Landen bezocht: