My goals in 2013 - Reisverslag uit Wamena, Indonesië van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu My goals in 2013 - Reisverslag uit Wamena, Indonesië van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu

My goals in 2013

Door: Joelle Glerum

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joëlle

11 Januari 2013 | Indonesië, Wamena

Hello,

Some people I spoke with in Fiji and here, or from back home asked me what my goals in 2013 will be. I told them I don’t know, I don’t really have a goal. But then I read a beautiful story about somebody who got some great advice from her mother, while she was dealing with cancer. It really touched my heart, so the clue of the story will be my goal for 2013, or at least a part of my goal, because my most important goal is to enjoy and live life the way I do.

The story goes as follows:

When Dawn got diagnosed with breast cancer, she was shocked, she thought she would never get it. But she did. When the doctor actually said: ‘You have cancer’ all the words following just turned into gibberish.
Before going on chemotherapy, she celebrated her 40th birthday with her son, one of the items she wanted to check off her bucket list, and also do it with a full head of hair and without the side effects of the drugs.

Before long though, it was time to undergo chemotherapy, and along with it came the accompanying of hair loss. She shared that during one of her difficult days with her mum who sent her an email, which ultimately gave her the courage to face things head on and with right attitude.
Here is what her mom shared with her:

‘There once was a woman who woke up one morning, looked in the mirror and noticed she had only tree hairs on her head. ‘’Well,’’ she said ‘I think I will braid my hair today. So she did and she had an amazing day.
‘The next day she woke up, looked in the mirror and noticed that she had only one hair on her head. ‘’Well’’ she said ‘’Today I’m going to wear my hair in a pony tail.’’ So she did, and she had a fun, fun day.
The next day she woke up, looked in the mirror and noticed that there wasn’t a single hair on her head. ‘’YAY!’’ she exclaimed ‘’I don’t have to fix my hair today!’’
As dawn shared with a lot people; ‘’ Attitude is everything. Be kinder than necessary for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of a battle. Live simply. Love generously. Care deeply. Speak kindly. Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass. It is about learning to dance naked in the rain. ‘

‘’May we all learn to ‘’Dance in the rain’’

Joëlle

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joëlle

Hello, Ik ben Joëlle Glerum. Ik ben een zelfstandige & ondernemend persoon. Ik heb in mei 2012 mijn HAVO diploma gehaald. Toen ik 15 jaar was ben ik zelfstandig voor een halfjaar naar Engeland gegaan. Dit jaar (2012/2013) zal ik vrijwilligerswerk gaan doen in het buitenland. Ik hou erg van lekker eten. Verder wielren en squash ik. Ik hou ervan om te lezen en te reizen. In mijn toekomst wil ik iets gaan doen met ontwikkelingswerk of toerisme, of het combineren. Dit jaar zal mij veel duidelijkheid geven over de keuzes voor mijn toekomst. Cya, xx. Joëlle

Actief sinds 03 Jan. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 195
Totaal aantal bezoekers 52252

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Februari 2016 - 08 Juli 2016

Placement in Uganda

20 Maart 2015 - 20 Maart 2015

Fiedltrip Asia (Thailand + Myanmar)

22 Augustus 2014 - 31 Januari 2015

My studies in Latvia

23 Oktober 2012 - 30 Juni 2013

Reis om de wereld. / Travelling around the World.

09 Januari 2010 - 09 Juni 2010

5 Maanden In Engeland.

Landen bezocht: