Being useful in Papua - Reisverslag uit Wamena, Indonesië van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu Being useful in Papua - Reisverslag uit Wamena, Indonesië van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu

Being useful in Papua

Door: Joëlle

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joëlle

30 Januari 2013 | Indonesië, Wamena

Dear readers,

I hope everybody is okay and if not I hope you will feel okay soon. I hope the place you are living in is not to cold and if it is cold I hope you are enjoying this.

Anyway here in Papua I am doing great, I feel great. I am still not really used to the weather, it sometimes feels very cold.

Anyways, here is a new story! No, bad experiences today. I will tell about days I actually felt I was doing something useful or at least not waiting for the day to pass by.
On Friday the 18th I went with Lely, my ‘room’mate to Koinone, the school where she teaches. I helped around there. Even one of the other teachers asked me if I would like to give an art class in class 4. So I did. We drew a Honai (the original Papuans are living in) and a pig (wam) and a few bushes and a mountain (so it looked like Wamena). Later that day I helped Lely to draw a pig, a horse, a goose, a donkey, a worm, a dog, a cat, a chicken, a bird, a rabit, a fish, a cow, so she could use the animals to play a game in the classes she teaches.
On Monday the 21st and Tuesday the 22th I helped Jacomien to bring invitations to the schools around Wamena. Monday was really fun. Tuesday as well, but it also got a darker side, which you could have read in my story on the 29th of January.
Then on Thursday the 24th and on Friday the 25th I went to H.I.S Wamena, the international school, here I helped mister Kyle and I gave an art class to grade 1-4 and grade 5-8. Here we drew some different things. I really liked helping in this school, because these children seemed to be very happy that there was a new foreigner. On this school there are mostly children from foreigners who work here and there is just one Indonesian child.
On every Saturday I have been seeing a bit of Papua, on the first Saturday I saw a waterfall and a river. And the second Saturday I have been with a group of teachers to the river, to eat there for lunch.
Then yesterday on Tuesday the 29th I went cycling with Birkit, she is a foreigner living here and works together with her husband for Helimission/Helivida. Together we went to a souvenir shop and Helivida/Helimission, we also went to her house, were we had a really nice lunch. Then we watch the movie called Jungle 2 Jungle and then I went back home.

I have had more days that I felt I was doing something, but these days were very special, because everything showed a different way of life in Papua.

Will see you by my next story.

Love,

Joëlle

Ps. Here in Papua, the internet connection is not so good, so uploading a pictures takes a very long time, so in my next country I will upload some pictures of Papua on my blog and on my facebook.

  • 31 Januari 2013 - 19:11

    Renata:

    Gelukkig voel je je weer helemaal beter! Hier is het opeens weer 10 graden boven nul (verschil van 20 graden met vorige week) en Myrthe is herstellende van de griep. Straks met school op wintersport en aansluitend crocusvakantie. Lekker bijkomen. Leuk dat je op school bij Mr. Kyle mocht helpen, zo maak jij toch hele bijzondere dingen mee en krijg je een schat aan ervaringen. Good luckl! xxx

  • 01 Februari 2013 - 08:20

    Corien:

    Hoi Joëlle,

    Je hebt op zijn minst een beetje lerarenbloed door je aderen stromen! Geniet van de laatste dagen Papua.

    Hier was het pas echt koud. Wij hebben vorige week een bevroren waterval (bij Coo in België) gezien ...

    Groetjes, Corien

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joëlle

Hello, Ik ben Joëlle Glerum. Ik ben een zelfstandige & ondernemend persoon. Ik heb in mei 2012 mijn HAVO diploma gehaald. Toen ik 15 jaar was ben ik zelfstandig voor een halfjaar naar Engeland gegaan. Dit jaar (2012/2013) zal ik vrijwilligerswerk gaan doen in het buitenland. Ik hou erg van lekker eten. Verder wielren en squash ik. Ik hou ervan om te lezen en te reizen. In mijn toekomst wil ik iets gaan doen met ontwikkelingswerk of toerisme, of het combineren. Dit jaar zal mij veel duidelijkheid geven over de keuzes voor mijn toekomst. Cya, xx. Joëlle

Actief sinds 03 Jan. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 267
Totaal aantal bezoekers 52227

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Februari 2016 - 08 Juli 2016

Placement in Uganda

20 Maart 2015 - 20 Maart 2015

Fiedltrip Asia (Thailand + Myanmar)

22 Augustus 2014 - 31 Januari 2015

My studies in Latvia

23 Oktober 2012 - 30 Juni 2013

Reis om de wereld. / Travelling around the World.

09 Januari 2010 - 09 Juni 2010

5 Maanden In Engeland.

Landen bezocht: