Bali – Papua (and the First two days). - Reisverslag uit Wamena, Indonesië van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu Bali – Papua (and the First two days). - Reisverslag uit Wamena, Indonesië van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu

Bali – Papua (and the First two days).

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joëlle

10 Januari 2013 | Indonesië, Wamena

Hello,
When I left Bali at the airport of Denpasar. I was expected to leave at half past 6. We left at half past 9, we were about 3 hours delayed. When I came in Makassar, I had about 1hour and 40 minutes left, to get my luggage, go to transit desk and then to check in my luggage. I was so happy someone helped me, so I was done in less than an hour, so I still I had to wait for a few minutes. This plane left less than an half hour later than expected. So I arrived in Jayapura a bit later. I had to get my luggage and went outside, there was Jacomien to pick me up. Together we went to the MAF, here we would take the plane to go from Jayapura to Wamena (Which means in Papua Fat Pig or Pigs’ fat –both is okay). It was a small plane with just 7 or 8 people in there. The Pilot was a Dutch pilot, which was really great. Jacomien seemed to know him. He was a friendly person. They placed me on the co pilot place, so I sat next to the pilot, totally in front, which was very cool. From Jayapura we went to Mulia, here we landed, dropped some people. In Mulia, it was so strict, there were people from the army with big guns asking me what I was going to do in bathroom, that was so strange. Later I heard Mulia is a place where there is some problems with them not wanting to be a part of Indonesia, they just want to be Papua itself. Anyway, after half an hour we went from Mulia to Wamena. We arrived in Wamena at the 8 of January 2013, we came there around 12 o’clock. When I arrived at the campus, it was half past 12. I met two of my 3 roommates. They are called Deli (which you pronounce as Delea) and Ice (which you pronounce as Iedjey). We share a bathroom, kitchen, and a room where we can sit down. We all have our own bedrooms. I just putted my bag in my room and we had lunch. Then after lunch I took a nap and then went to Jacomien and Pieters house, on the end of the campus. I brought some things and stayed there for dinner. The next morning I went at quarter to nine with Pieter on his scooter (with a helmet, because if you don’t wear a helmet here, you can pay so much money) to the Police, to get my visa for being in Wamena. This has to be done 24 hours after you arrive in Papua. A few hours later I went with Jacomien to pick up my visa, for being here. Then we went to the supermarkets and town. So I could have a idea, where everything is. After that I came home around 5. I took a nap and around 6 I went around the campus, met some people. Around 7 I came back and we (Deli, Ice and I) had dinner. (We have a schedule for cooking, washing and buying..) After dinner around half past 9 we went over our place, were the dorms for the girls are, for me to meet them. So that was very good. Here it is, the students have to be in there room at 10 pm and it normally is quiet around that time, maybe a bit later. But it is not okay for them to walk around after 10pm. The teachers and I are allowed to walk around after 10pm, but they told me normally around that time you are so tired, so you pretty much want to sleep, because you get up around 6, to get ready for school and have breakfast. (School and work starts her early, but you are finished around 3-4pm)
Today it is the 10th of January and this morning I took a shower for the first time. It is so strange to shower here, because there is not a shower. You have to heat some water, you mixed it with cold water, you stand in front of the toilet (that explains why all the bathrooms in Indonesia are so wet), and you scoop it in a mini bucket, just a cup nearly. It is so strange, but so awesome. So I did my hair today, which feels so good and clean. I just showered very weird and there were cockroaches and spiders walking around. So I am very proud of myself that I showered there. Then I had breakfast, a cup of tea and something which is some powder which you mix with hot water and it sort of becomes rijstepap (don’t know the English word, sorry), or something like milk with rice in there, it looks so strange, but it taste okay. It fills your stomach very well.
Now it is half past 9 and my plan for today is to walk around over the campus. Learn some more Indonesian. (I am trying to learn the Indonesian language, which would be cool to at least know some things..) And my two roommates, the 3rd I haven’t met yet, are both Papua, from a different part. But the one from here thinks it is good for me to know the local Papua language, so I’m also learning a bit of the language of Papua.

I hope you will have a great day as well.

Love,
Joëlle

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joëlle

Hello, Ik ben Joëlle Glerum. Ik ben een zelfstandige & ondernemend persoon. Ik heb in mei 2012 mijn HAVO diploma gehaald. Toen ik 15 jaar was ben ik zelfstandig voor een halfjaar naar Engeland gegaan. Dit jaar (2012/2013) zal ik vrijwilligerswerk gaan doen in het buitenland. Ik hou erg van lekker eten. Verder wielren en squash ik. Ik hou ervan om te lezen en te reizen. In mijn toekomst wil ik iets gaan doen met ontwikkelingswerk of toerisme, of het combineren. Dit jaar zal mij veel duidelijkheid geven over de keuzes voor mijn toekomst. Cya, xx. Joëlle

Actief sinds 03 Jan. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 451
Totaal aantal bezoekers 52060

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Februari 2016 - 08 Juli 2016

Placement in Uganda

20 Maart 2015 - 20 Maart 2015

Fiedltrip Asia (Thailand + Myanmar)

22 Augustus 2014 - 31 Januari 2015

My studies in Latvia

23 Oktober 2012 - 30 Juni 2013

Reis om de wereld. / Travelling around the World.

09 Januari 2010 - 09 Juni 2010

5 Maanden In Engeland.

Landen bezocht: