Learn about Fiji. - Reisverslag uit Nadi, Fiji van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu Learn about Fiji. - Reisverslag uit Nadi, Fiji van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu

Learn about Fiji.

Door: Joelle Glerum

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joëlle

28 Oktober 2012 | Fiji, Nadi

Bula,

Saterday 27-10-2012 I went around 10am to Nadi town by bus. I walked around, for quite a bit of time. Then I walked all the way back to Namaka, the part of Nadi I live in. On the way to Namaka, I met a volunteer called Judith and a Fijan called Jason Sorro. Or at least I could call him Jason. Judith asked me to go out with her and a group of volunteers to the ice bar later that day. I skipped. When I got home after the walk from Nadi town to Namaka. We went to pick up dinner. First Betty took me to her family, we went to her brothers house. There I also met her dad, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, nephews and cousin. With her nephews and cousin we went to a little carnival thing. Then we got the food, and ate all together at her brothers house. Then she brought me home, while she went to a friend’s house. I went to bed.

Sunday 28-10-2012 Betty and I went to her family again. I talked with her family and her cousin Yvette who is 21. We had fun and when breaking dawn part 2 comes along, she is huged twilight fan, she asked me to come with her to the cinema, so then we will go to the movies.

Monday 29-10-2012 I woke up pretty early, because I went to bed like at 9pm in the evening, because I was really tired. I was so excited to see the school where I would do volunteer work. At 8 am in the morning Sophie picked me up and brought me to school, she showed me around, and she brought me to the headmaster Miss Bula. Miss Bula asked me which age group I would like. I told her between 8-10. I got the age group 9-11. She asked me if I would like to take class 5C with miss V. Miss V is absent till next week, and the person who would fill in isn’t there. So one of volunteers Eveline is helping me out. (She is also from Holland, but she is a teacher in Holland, she is 24). In the afternoon I was teaching the class for the last half on my own. We played a game at the end of the school day. (Bing Bong Bang *).
This day we teached English and a bit of biologie mixed with social things. And they made a group project, we asked them to do. One of the results you will see in one of the pictures.

On Tuesday 30-10-2012 I woke up pretty late, so I went to school in a little hurry. I went by bus, even when I had said to myself ‘You are going to walk’. At least I got the change to stop the bus, so I had a fun new experience. When I arrived at school, there was again no teacher. So Eveline joined me. At around 9 o’clock the k and in the whole afternoon I was alone teaching. After school I marked the music test. From the 37 only 2 passed the test, so there is a lot of work today tomorrow. (Clearly the teacher didn’t explain the music good). This day we teached math’s, elementary science and we practiced the dancing.

On Wednesday 31-10-2012 I went to school. I met the original teacher. She seems very nice. I teached math and they got marked for the dancing.

On Thursday 01-11-2012 I went to school. At school we did the basics. At 11 am the people were asked who wanted to swim and who did not want to swim. I went with the swimmers to the pool. They were learned how to swim. It was nice to see them swim and afterwards we got back in class. They had to sing a song. And then they were free.
On Friday 02-11-2012 I arrived at school around quarter past 8. 15 minutes later we took the bus to the swimming pool. The classes 5-8 had an swimming competition this day. It was nice to see. One time I was the referee, the other times I made all kind of pictures. You might see one of the pictures.

*Bing Bong Bang = A game played by a lot of people. You are in a group with 3 persons. One person is Bing, and he/she is only allowed to say Bing, the other Bong is only allowed to say Bong and the last is Bang, who is only allowed to say Bang (and a number). All the groups have a different number. Group 1 start saying bing, bong, bang 4. And then group 4 also has to say bing bong bang 2. And then group 2 says it. And so on, till one of the groups says the logic wrong or calls his or her own group or a group who is already out. And at the end you have a winner!

Have a nice day!
Cya, xx

  • 04 November 2012 - 08:27

    Corien:

    Hoi Joëlle,
    Wow, jij durft. Je bent meteen in het diepe gegooid, alleen voor de klas! Je bent volgens mij een natuurtalent met teachersgenen in het bloed:=))
    Heel veel succes!

  • 04 November 2012 - 08:27

    Corien:

    Hoi Joëlle,
    Wow, jij durft. Je bent meteen in het diepe gegooid, alleen voor de klas! Je bent volgens mij een natuurtalent met teachersgenen in het bloed:=))
    Heel veel succes!

  • 04 November 2012 - 11:09

    Renata:

    Lieve Joëlle,

    Erg gelachen om Bing, Bang, Bong. Een spelletje dat ik veel met kinderen heb gespeeld en vaak dubbel om lag.Jij zult vast ook veel gelachen hebben! Fijn dat het allemaal zo goed loopt en het is leuk om jouw avonturen te lezen! veel plezier deze week!

  • 10 November 2012 - 03:38

    Joëlle Glerum:

    Het is erg apart, hier hebben zij een aantal spelletjes om zich te vermaken, wat erg leuk is om te leren :)

  • 27 November 2012 - 12:36

    Leigh Soldan:

    Hi Joelle!
    It is Leigh from Canada. We met at the Coralview. I hope your travels are continuing without incident...lol. Take care of yourself...I will be following your adventures!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joëlle

Hello, Ik ben Joëlle Glerum. Ik ben een zelfstandige & ondernemend persoon. Ik heb in mei 2012 mijn HAVO diploma gehaald. Toen ik 15 jaar was ben ik zelfstandig voor een halfjaar naar Engeland gegaan. Dit jaar (2012/2013) zal ik vrijwilligerswerk gaan doen in het buitenland. Ik hou erg van lekker eten. Verder wielren en squash ik. Ik hou ervan om te lezen en te reizen. In mijn toekomst wil ik iets gaan doen met ontwikkelingswerk of toerisme, of het combineren. Dit jaar zal mij veel duidelijkheid geven over de keuzes voor mijn toekomst. Cya, xx. Joëlle

Actief sinds 03 Jan. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 247
Totaal aantal bezoekers 52249

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Februari 2016 - 08 Juli 2016

Placement in Uganda

20 Maart 2015 - 20 Maart 2015

Fiedltrip Asia (Thailand + Myanmar)

22 Augustus 2014 - 31 Januari 2015

My studies in Latvia

23 Oktober 2012 - 30 Juni 2013

Reis om de wereld. / Travelling around the World.

09 Januari 2010 - 09 Juni 2010

5 Maanden In Engeland.

Landen bezocht: