Hati Kuat - Reisverslag uit Kota Kinabalu, Maleisië van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu Hati Kuat - Reisverslag uit Kota Kinabalu, Maleisië van Joëlle Glerum - WaarBenJij.nu

Hati Kuat

Door: Joëlle Glerum

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joëlle

17 Maart 2013 | Maleisië, Kota Kinabalu

Dear readers,
I know it has been quite a while. I didn’t want to write my blog or anything else. I felt disappointed in myself. This is because I had to leave the jungle track on the second day because of an accident.
The first day of the jungle track was such an exciting moment. We were walking through the jungle to our first camp. I can’t tell you how amazing I felt walking through the jungle, seeing all those animals moving around and enjoying itself. I even heard the sound of an orang-utan. When we arrived in the first camp I hang my hammock and soon after I fell asleep, after dinner ofcourse.
The second day was the hardest. We had to climb a hill which was very steep and asked a lot of us. But the view on the top of the hill was amazing! When we arrived in the second camp. Coen and I were hanging his and mine hammock. When we were doing mine suddenly my left foot was bleeding like hell. I thought it was a leech and didn’t think it was necessary to check on. But then it started hurting and there was a lot of blood. I looked and only saw blood, no leech. So I went to the community area and they saw it was a deep wound and it had to get stitched. This meant Jungle Track is over, you have to get evacuated and brought to a hospital. I couldn’t stand on my foot, so they had to make a stretcher for me to lie on and they had to walk for two/three hours. In the beginning somebody carried me but when the way was bigger they made de stretcher. Suddenly a car came and helped me to Sabah tea longhouse. There was a van which would pick me up and bring me to the hospital. Here was Eve, in the hospital it got stitched. And I went back to the Camp. Mathieu has been with me all the way and went the next day back to the wild.
The next days were moments of sadness and relaxing because it had to heal properly.
Now on 17th of march, the stitched got removed.  It looks quiet nice. It will only always be a scar reminding me about the evacuation of the jungle. To me that’s is a little bit negative, but at the same it is positive because only I can say I have been evacuated. I overcame my fear for spiders and other insects. I even dealt with leeches.
Today I want to thank Eve’s brother (Eve was our campmanager in Camp Bongkud), the day before the jungle track we talked and he told me that as a young boy he did the same track and his granddad told him Hati Kuat, which means if your heart is strong you can do it! He gave me the same advise.

Also a lot of people told me if you had no bad luck you would have definitely finished it. I was always the last of the group, walking, between the rest of the group and me would be half an hour or less. But the fact we could do it on our own speed was relaxed and good. Even the guide said I prefer the people who walk slower but make it because they had such an harder time doing the whole track than the people who walk quickly.

For the next coming two weeks I will be on Mantanani Islands, where there is no connection or anything. So I will see you after two weeks!
Love,
Joëlle
Ps. Always stay positive even if you can’t.
Ps. Als je het wilt, kun je het gewoon stapje voor stapje.
Ps. Happy St. Patricks day!

  • 17 Maart 2013 - 13:23

    Désirée:

    Lieverd,
    Prachtig verhaal, wat een positiviteit straalt het uit. Geniet van Mantanani. Doe voorzichtig. Ik denk aan je.
    Zodra je weer contact kan maken met de buitenwereld, laat het ons weten.
    Dikke kus, mama

    P.S. Ik tel de dagen af.

  • 17 Maart 2013 - 14:18

    Laura :

    Gossie, ik begrijp volkomen dat je vanwege deze gebeurtenis van slag was. Geweldig hoor zoals je hiermee bent omgegaan... Ik geniet verder volop van je verhalen en leer de meest voor mij onbekende woorden als leaches. Ik zoek het meteen op! Veel plezier verder!
    Laura

  • 17 Maart 2013 - 20:53

    Renata:

    Veel plezier Joëlle en pluk de dag!!! groetjes van ons allemaal

  • 19 Maart 2013 - 13:37

    Corien:

    Lieve Joëlle,

    Je bent een reuze pechvogel. Gelukkig kun je al weer een klein beetje lopen. Maar ik begrijp dat je baalt, dat je die bijzondere jungletocht niet hebt kunnen afmaken. Maar ik vermoed dat er de komende weken nog een boel te beleven is!

    Groetjes en sterkte, Corien

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joëlle

Hello, Ik ben Joëlle Glerum. Ik ben een zelfstandige & ondernemend persoon. Ik heb in mei 2012 mijn HAVO diploma gehaald. Toen ik 15 jaar was ben ik zelfstandig voor een halfjaar naar Engeland gegaan. Dit jaar (2012/2013) zal ik vrijwilligerswerk gaan doen in het buitenland. Ik hou erg van lekker eten. Verder wielren en squash ik. Ik hou ervan om te lezen en te reizen. In mijn toekomst wil ik iets gaan doen met ontwikkelingswerk of toerisme, of het combineren. Dit jaar zal mij veel duidelijkheid geven over de keuzes voor mijn toekomst. Cya, xx. Joëlle

Actief sinds 03 Jan. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 407
Totaal aantal bezoekers 52052

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Februari 2016 - 08 Juli 2016

Placement in Uganda

20 Maart 2015 - 20 Maart 2015

Fiedltrip Asia (Thailand + Myanmar)

22 Augustus 2014 - 31 Januari 2015

My studies in Latvia

23 Oktober 2012 - 30 Juni 2013

Reis om de wereld. / Travelling around the World.

09 Januari 2010 - 09 Juni 2010

5 Maanden In Engeland.

Landen bezocht: